Roblox Wiki
Roblox Wiki
24,287
pages

An employee at Roblox with the display name "axo"

A display name shown when being searched on the website.

Display name and username when you click someone's name in the leaderboard.

Display names are a Roblox feature announced on the Developer Forum on February 9, 2021 and released worldwide on June 8, 2021.[1]

The feature is similar to Twitter's display names, where on the user's profile, their display name shows up. Then, under it, a handle with their username. Display names can be changed once every seven days.[2]. Players do not have to pay a fee when editing their display name and can share the same display name as others, with the exception of famous YouTubers and administrators.

Releases

The feature was first released on February 18, 2021 for one hour in Germany to test the feature to a relatively small audience. Players outside of Germany could have used a virtual private network to access the update. During this release, some players created display names containing inappropriate phrases or symbols. As a result, all accounts with these display names were terminated.

It was re-released on April 14, 2021 for over a day in Germany. Like the previous Germany release, players outside of Germany could have used a virtual private network to access the update.

Finally, on June 8, 2021, it was released worldwide.

Appearance

An example of impersonation with the "Roblox" display name.

Display names replace the player's username on the leaderboard, username above the player's head, and usernames in the chat in experiences that have display names enabled. The leaderboard shows the player's display name and handle.

Criticism

Many users have criticized display names for making it easier to impersonate other players. In an effort to prevent impersonation, usernames of some famous YouTubers and administrators were censored in the May release of the update. However, display names created before this update remain unaffected.

Moderation

If a user gets a ban or a warning, the display name of their account will be reset to their username.

References